Reworked White Shirt

Displaying 20170119_101904.jpg

This shirt started life as a classic white button up shirt. I found it in a charity shop for 99p and was asked to transform it and  give it a “new sense of place”. I started off by unpicking the old collar and getting rid of the sleeves. Then I cropped and hemmed it, so it sat on my waist at exactly the right place. I constructed a flat, wavy peter-pan style collar which crossed over at the front. I think these look like butterfly wings, and they are the statement part of the shirt. Next, I removed the last three buttons, opening the shirt at the front and sewing in a pleated panel to create a boxier shape. I kept the shirt plain white so it can remain a staple, however it is given a new lease of life through the interesting details and shape.

Leave a comment